The Lemon Law in Texas – Lemon Car Law Practice

At the J. Alexander Law Firm, we advocate for our clients. We review individual cases with consumer warranty issues to assist clients with legal remedies under the Texas Lemon Law. 

Let us use our Lemon Law experience to determine if you have a consumer warranty case.

How Do You Get Help Under the Lemon Law in Texas?

lemon law-01

The Four Times Test

lemon law-01

The Serious Safety Hazard Test

lemon law-01

The 30-Day Test

The Four Times Test

In order to pass the Four Times Test, you must have taken your vehicle to the dealership for repair four times for the same defect within the first two years (or 24,000 miles, whichever comes first) and still be experiencing the same problem.

Example of the Four Times Test

The power steering in your new vehicle doesn’t work, so you take the car to the dealership a week after you buy it. The problem comes right back, but you wait a few months to take it back to the dealership for repair. Still, the problem persists – so you take it back again after you’ve owned the vehicle for a year. A week after you pick up the car from the third repair, the power steering goes out again.  

You must bring the car back in one more time before you hit 24,000 miles, or you’ve owned the car for two years, in order to be eligible for protection under the lemon law in Texas.

The Serious Safety Hazard Test

A serious safety hazard is a malfunction that takes away your ability to control or operate the vehicle normally, or a malfunction that creates a “substantial risk of fire or explosion.” You pass the Serious Safety Hazard Test if you have taken your vehicle to the dealership two or more times to take care of it within the first two years you owned it (or 24,000 miles, whichever comes first) and the problem still exists.

Example of the Serious Safety Hazard Test

You discover that the brakes don’t work as intended in your new car a few months after buying it. You take the vehicle to the dealership so they can repair it, and everything seems fine until a few months later when the brakes go out again. 

You bring the car back to the dealership and explain the problem, and they try again to fix it. If the problem persists after that, you pass the Serious Safety Hazard Test.

The 30-Day Test

When your new vehicle has been unusable due to a defect that impairs your use of it, or if it severely impacts the vehicle’s market value for 30 or more days during the first 24 months you’ve owned it (or the first 24,000 miles, whichever comes first), and the problem still exists, and the dealer didn’t give you a comparable “loaner” during that period, you pass the 30-Day Test.

Example of the 30-Day Test

You take your new car to the shop to fix an issue that’s covered by the warranty. The dealership holds on to your car and doesn’t provide you with a loaner – you either have to rent your own car or go without – and this happens for a total of 30 or more days during the first 24 months you owned the vehicle, you pass the 30-Day Test.

Take charge of your legal claims

You could be eligible for relief, so your best bet is to talk with a Texas lemon law attorney who can evaluate your case and discuss possible outcomes with you.